Skip to main content

This browser is not supported. Please upgrade your browser.

Regional Universities keeping communities strong

Posted on : 11 July 2019

Granted independent status in 1954, after 16 years as a College of the University of Sydney, the University of New England was Australia’s first regional university. With an early focus on the needs of its Armidale community, the University offered rural science and agricultural economics early on and has maintained a strong interest in rural matters and research. A popular choice with Rural Scholarship recipients, UNE is the university of choice for approximately 18% of the 2019 students receiving a financial helping hand from the Royal Agricultural Society of NSW (RAS) Foundation.

Following the footsteps of UNE, the University of Newcastle was granted independent status in 1965, after 14 years as a College of the University of New South Wales. The dream of a bushland campus that blended a traditional university with innovative approaches was coming to fruition but equally important was to maintain a connection with the community that had campaigned for its creation. Welcoming almost 9% of Rural Scholarship recipients, the University of Newcastle educates 26,652 students over 140 hectares of natural bushland.

Established in 1989, Charles Sturt University has campuses in Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst, Dubbo, Orange, Port Macquarie and Wagga Wagga. The university is home for almost 23% of Rural Scholarship recipients in studies including Medical Radiation, Veterinary Science and Psychology.

Regional universities provide education, employment and opportunities to their communities and open their doors to assist those seeking higher education. The Royal Agricultural Society of NSW (RAS) Foundation is proud to also lend a hand and financially support students in regional and metropolitan universities.

Rural Scholarship applications are open now, visit here for more information.



Failed connection